top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdrienne

Yes, I will read you that book


Ever since bringing Roscoe home, Jordy has been an absolute rockstar with having to share our attention. He has always been a kid who can keep himself occupied and can play alone for pretty long periods of time, but it has never been more apparent than it has these last few months.


It's so easy for me to just let him do that too. To just let him entertain himself and try and get as much done as I possibly can in that small window of time where he is occupied and Roscoe is asleep or content enough for me for put him down. We are currently in the process of remodeling our entire kitchen ourselves, so naturally, every single free moment is spent sanding cabinets or painting cabinets or chipping off tile or trying to find appliances that aren't thousands of dollars.


So when Jordy comes to me in the middle of any of those things and says, "Can you wead me dis book mommy?", my initial reaction is to tell him he has to wait until I am done. But today, I stopped whatever it was I was doing and read him that book. And then I read him another, and another, and another. Until we read seven books in a row.


Life is crazy with one kid and its complete chaos with any more than that 90% of the time. Throw in a kitchen remodel and there is little to no "quality time" time left. But its so damn worth it to find that small window of time and read the friggin' book. So, yes Jordy, I will read you that book. And 25 other ones if you want me to.


123 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page