top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdrienne

Mama Monday - Kelli

Hey mamas! Welcome back to Mama Monday! Took a week off to regroup and talk to a TON of new mamas I am SO SO SO excited to introduce you all to.


But enough housekeeping. This week we're chatting with Kelli, a fellow SAHM and mama of a sweet little man.



"Hey y'all, Kelli here. I’m mom to the most wonderful little boy, Nathan Edward. He was born @ 5:45 pm on 6/6/14 at a whopping 10lbs, 6oz, 22 ½ inches long. He was a TANK. Literally, the first thing I remember after waking up from my c-section was a nurse saying that it was time to meet my tank and she handed him over. He’s been wrapped around my heart ever since.


My husband Jed works for an automation company he’s been with for just about 12 years. He travels frequently, and it’s a huge bummer sometimes. Thankfully, it’s usually only for a few days at a time, but has been as long as two to three weeks before. It’s not uncommon for him to be gone for a week, then home on the weekend, then gone for another week, and it repeats for awhile. For as much as I really dislike it sometimes, it has afforded us the opportunity for me to stay home.  


I left the corporate world about six months after our son Nathan was born, so that means I’ve been a SAHM for a little over 4 ½ years. I miss my job so much sometimes- I worked for a company that treated its employees so wonderfully and made a lot of good work friends that I really miss. But, all things considered, it was a much more sound financial decision for me to stay home.


I love being a volunteer! I love filling my free time helping others. I volunteer a lot for the police station my brother works at. Those men and women help to make sure my brother makes it home every day to his family and I can’t help but be grateful to them for that. I’ve also volunteered for the Akron Marathon for the past three years handing out medals at the finish line and as course support at the final turn. It’s such a fun time! I also help my friend Deanna and the foundation she started in her memory, Sophia’s Wings. She’s an amazing woman doing amazing work. I also help out a bunch at Nathan’s preschool.



But the reason why I’m able to do all of this is because of my wonderful husband Jed. he’s amazing. We’ve been together for forever and a day…  we were high school sweethearts- I was a sophomore and he was a senior. After he graduated, he attended The Ohio State University while I finished school. After I graduated, I went to YSU. He got hired at his current job a month or so after he graduated college, and I still had a few years left. His job moved him to Toledo and I stayed in Hubbard. After he graduated high school, for the first five years, our entire relationship was long distance- we only saw each other on the weekends. It sucked so bad, but we made it. I moved to Toledo after I graduated college and we got married that July. That December, we moved to Ravenna and it’s been home since 2008. This year, we will celebrate being together for 18 years! He’s an amazing person. He sacrifices so much so that I can stay home. We’ve been through a lot together and I love him for everything he does for our little family. I’m so glad Nathan has such a wonderful and caring man to look up to. I’ve been so blessed."




1. What is your favorite thing about being a mama?

My most current favorite is seeing small reflections of the type of person I would like my kiddo to become. He has such a kind and loving soul and anytime I get to see glimpses of that, I feel like I’m doing something right. My other favorite thing is seeing how much he loves his daddy and his daddy love right back on him.

2. What surprised you most about being a mama?

I never thought I could love a thing so deeply, so quickly. From the moment I found out I was going to be a mom, I knew I’d love whomever God gave me. But I never knew just how much until he was in my arms. I had heard that there’s something to be said about the bond between a mama and her boy and it’s so very true! This boy can drive me nuts one minute and then with a perfectly timed fart, have me laughing till I cry!


3. What is the most difficult thing about being a mama?

This is a tough one. But I’d have to say one of the most difficult things is finding the balance between teaching him something and letting him figure it out for himself. He’s a naturally inquisitive child, but when he doesn’t always get it right the first time, it’s hard to hold back and let him find his way to getting it done. But the look on his face when he accomplishes something is worth it.

4. The best advice you’ve ever gotten as a mama?

From other SAHMs, the best advice I’ve gotten is to take care of myself and to not feel guilty for doing it. It’s taken me quite a long time to realize that I can’t possibly be the best mom I can be if I’m not taking care of myself physically, mentally, and emotionally. It’s a fine balance, but I feel like I’m beginning to find it.


5. Favorite mama products?

Dr. Teal’s eucalyptus and spearmint epsom salt and foaming bath. After a hard day, I love to take a nice long bath and just relax. Being able to turn my head off for just 45 minutes is what I need to recharge the batteries.


6. Favorite bun products?

Right now, it’s two things. Dove baby lotion is the first. Nathan has some really dry sensitive skin, but it seems like it’s especially bad this winter, and Dove is all that’s even remotely doing the trick right now. I’ve tried a few different brands and types of lotion, and Dove is what’s working the best. The second is a stuffed Build a Bear dinosaur Blue the Raptor Nathan got for Christmas from our old neighbor we still keep in touch with. He absolutely loves this thing and sleeps with it every night and plays with it everyday.


7. Favorite mom hack?

I’m not even sure what to call it, but my favorite mom “thing” is when in the spring, summer, and early fall Jed takes Nathan and goes to his family’s cabin in PA, I get a solid two days of absolute ALONE time. I love my little family, and I totally understand how blessed I am to be able to stay and home, but it is a tough thing to do and when they both are out of the house and it’s just me, the dog, and cat, I do nothing but relax. Seriously, my time alone consists of comfy pants, some take home hibachi dinner and sushi, and catching up on the DVR. I get to nap, sleep in, and recharge.


And that's all she wrote folks! If you'd like to get in touch with Kelli, you can find her on Facebook. You can also head up to the top of this page and click on my Find Me tab!


Check back next week for another new mama with another new scenario! Love yas and thank you all so much for your love and support!


65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page